never cease to learn new things

4

September 10, 2012 by Caity Stuart

One of the neat things about moving to a new place is getting to explore. Sure, vacations are nice and sweet. However, you never quite get done everything you wanted to (or you even know you wanted to!). While living there, you get the insider info. And of course much more time to really soak up the wonders of that new place, that is, of course, if holds many wonders.

Well, let me just say that New England indeed does.

While attending a field trip in Vermont on Friday, I decided to stop by a local maple syrup shop on the road home. After sipping on various grades of syrup brewed in that very building, I landed on eating some maple walnut ice cream. I also realized that while I am tempted to stock up on NE syrup like the apocalypse is coming, I decided that I will have to discipline myself to by only so much syrup over these next few years. I’m sure a few gallons will do it. 😉

Saturday mornings in New Hampshire seem to be reserved strictly for farmer’s markets. I’m surrounded by them! So my roommate, Whitney, and I decided to check out a market in the neighboring town of Brattleboro, VT. Oh gosh am I ever glad we did. Coolest. market. ever. I was literally drooling. And let me tell you. This market attracted your stereotypical Vermont-er. Really down-to-the-earth people who loved their food. It was foodie heaven. I brought home oddities such as chocolate peppers and green zebra tomatoes. But not before I walked away with lunch from a Dim Sum stand (I had to choose between Indian, stone fired pizza, thai, and west african. I tell ya, what a challenge.) Mmmmm!

Later in the evening, I caught a ride to New England College with some new-found Antioch friends to watch a roller derby bout, in particular to root on the Monadnock (the region I live in) Mad Knockers. Crazy! How fun it was to watch! I of course had no clue what was going on for most of the bout, however after many questions and explanations, I believe I walked away a fair handle on it. Yeah, I’ll go back.

So needless to say, a lot of my extroverted energies are gone these days. But trying to bull through and explore these new places and meet new people. It’s part of the package of moving somewhere new, right? Gulp.

4 thoughts on “never cease to learn new things

  1. Mmmm…blueberries….

  2. Lacey Smith says:

    When are you going to come visit us in New Jersey!?

Leave a comment