sister winter

1

February 9, 2013 by Caity Stuart

I love winter.

I grew up in central Indiana all of my life. Don’t be fooled. We get all of the seasons in the midwest. In full force. But the difference between Indiana and my new home, New Hampshire, is that people in the North East know how to love the cold weather. Snow shoes. Cross country and downhill skis. Tubing. Ice skates. Most of my friends here who are “natives” get absolutely giddy when there is snow…it’s time to play!

Before coming to NH, one of my dreams was to live in a community that celebrates the cold weather and snowy conditions. After trekking over 5 miles throughout my town today and seeing lots of people out and about, I believe I’ve achieved that dream.

I remember trying to explain to people in Cuba about snow and how we enjoy playing in it and many people responded with a resounding, “No thank you!” Well, they don’t know what they’re missing.

One thought on “sister winter

  1. I grew up in Maine. We had snowmobiles, went ice fishing and sledding. It was fun as a kid but as an adult I only enjoy the snow through New Years and then it’s time for it to go!
    My parents moved to Fla when they retired to get away from the snow and they both grew up in New England.
    I’m glad that you are enjoying the weather. 😉

Leave a comment