“let your J go on vacation”

2

May 29, 2013 by Caity Stuart

Before I left New Hampshire to embark on my summer travels, my academic advisor and dear professor, Joy, encouraged me to “let my J go on vacation.” I’ve been trying desperately since then to do just that.

For any of you not familiar with the Myers-Briggs test, become familiar with it. Now. For those who are, you’ll be reminded that J stands for Judging or rather “those who thrive on structure” and organization as opposed to flexibility. While I have actively worked on relaxing my J these past few years or so, I was still caught red-handed when I was explaining to Joy the books I would read, the blog posts I would write, the internship projects I would start, and exact travel plans I would develop all within the few weeks I had as a “break” before the start of my summer internship. I was not only planning every minute of my vacation but was also getting a jump start on my academic studies for the summer.

What I could tell Joy really wanted to say was, “for real, girl? Breathe! You just successfully finished your first year of grad school and are about to jump into a brand new environment for the summer. Take a break! Let yourself loose! Let life happen.” Oh, what a brilliant reminder.

So I’ve tried to do just that these last few weeks. I have packed up my belongings in New Hampshire and tearfully drove away for the summer. I reunited with one of my dearest friends who lives in Fredericksburg, VA, my old stomping grounds, a reunion that I am sure has purely consisted of hours upon hours of great conversations and incessant giggling. I flew down to Orlando to see my brother (a big occasion for the two of us as it was the first time either of us had sought each other out). I went fishing and played cars with my 4-year-old cousin in northern Virginia. On my return travels from Orlando, I was stuck in DC for 6 hours and thus hopped the Metro to the Mall for some good museum fun. (yes, yes I did just say that…)

I have read what I wanted to. I have woken up almost every day sans alarm clock. I have caught up on favorite tv shows. Hikes, bike rides, runs, you name it. Or not. Whatever. Whatever I have I felt like.

Certainly, I have also made sure to purchase in advance items necessary for this summer such as pants for my uniform, sunscreen and bug spray, a new bathing suit, a short(er) hair cut, etc. I’m afraid to say that my “J” hasn’t fully gone on vacation.

But for the most part, it has. What will be will be. What will come next week at the beginning of training will come. Nothing I can do at this point can change that.

Except maybe a few more great meals with friends and family, a few more mornings without an alarm to scare me awake, and a few more episodes of Arrested Development.

2 thoughts on ““let your J go on vacation”

  1. Debra Yerden-Ferguson says:

    I used to be SOOOO J myself. 🙂 I still have a lot of those tendencies, and sometimes, maybe often, they work well for certain situations, BUT, what joy there is in letting GO of a lot. Letting go of the need to control everything. Certainly a faith step really. We remember the ONE who is in control that way …… Love you, dear niece!! It is so fun and encouraging to just get to walk alongside you and watch you grow in every way. At 50, I find it so wonderful that I am still doing the same!!!!!

Leave a comment